Chocolate Mug Cake!! [Recipe Included]

I have been craving chocolate lava cakes. I haven’t had one since we moved back to PA from MD and they were my favorite dessert at our favorite restaurant. I wanted one quickly though, I didn’t want to have to work hard and wait for them to bake in an oven. Lightbulb! I’m gonna do one of those cake in a mug recipes. As any hungry girl would do, I googled chocolate lava mug cake recipes and speaking of favorites, I found out that my favorite celebrity chef, the Pioneer Woman, has a recipe for a chocolate mug cake. I originally thought it was chocolate lava cake, but it wasn’t. Either way, it was delicious! I’ve made it so many times since then and probably won’t stop. 

First, I gathered the ingredients that Ree Drummond told me to… Flour, sugar, baking cocoa, baking powder, salt, milk (not pictured), vanilla extract (not pictured), oil, and chocolate chips.

I didn’t have vegetable oil, so I substituted with olive oil and it didn’t taste bad, I’m just not sure if it changes anything with the way the cake cooks. I’m going to write Ree’s recipe below so that you don’t have to click on another link and read another webpage to get the recipe, just know I did not create this recipe. I did make some changes (more salt and chocolate chips than it calls for). The extra chocolate chips makes it seem much more like a chocolate lava cake, because of the melted chocolate inside. This mug cake is the best one I’ve ever had, it’s incredibly moist and full of flavor (which is the opposite of any mug cakes I’ve made in the past).

By the way, other than the salt all of the ingredients I used are from Aldi – my favorite grocery store! 

I’ve been so obsessed with this recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!! 🙂

You’ll also need a 12 oz. microwave safe mug.

Step 1: Put 3 tablespoons of flour, 3 tablespoons of sugar, 2 tablespoons of cocoa, ¼ teaspoon of baking powder, and a large pinch of salt in the mug. Mix thoroughly with a fork so that the dry ingredients are all combined. 

Step 2: Add in 3 tablespoons of milk, 3 tablespoons of oil, and a splash of vanilla extract. Stir until combined with the dry ingredients. I use a spoon from this point on because it mixes better and easier.

Step 3: Add in chocolate chips and stir.

Step 4: Microwave for 90 seconds. 

Step 5: Take out and let cool for 2 minutes. Add ice cream or whipped cream to your taste.

Step 6: ENJOY!!!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Mug Cake!! [Recipe Included]

Leave a comment